I don’t mean to brag, but..

So I’m still unemployed, oh the joys. The last week I’ve made the same constant effort daily applying to places. No luck at all. Ugh. I actually was made to apply for unpaid work experience that’d look good on my CV. I figured it was better than nothing and went ahead with it. I got turned down for that too, oh the embarrassment. My poor ego was fairly dented.

So I had my fortnightly sign in just a little earlier, tell people how I’m doing and so on. Generally I’m well presented, feeling good about myself, chatting away with my adviser, she’s lovely and we get along fine. I like to think I brighten up her shitty Fridays. I wasn’t my old self, I look and feel like shit. Winter seems to do this to me ever since I got ill, I just feel flat I guess. I was just in tons of layers, lost my glasses?! funny (14244) Animated Gif on Giphy

Yes like Velma, funny internet. Funny. But I was running late, so I just decided to be blind.

So I put my earphones in on my way back home, maybe a 20 minute walk. I put some Watsky on and decided he’s right. “You’re a lost dog, I’m a boss hog” and listened to some of his awesome old tracks and one of his spoken word pieces “I don’t mean to brag, but..”. Put a massive smile on my face and went about my more usual walk home. Yeah I still feel shitty, but I made sure I smile at the very least. I even bought myself some peanut butter on the way home because I’m random like that. It’s totally my go-to comfort food. I might just get myself a spoon…

So I guess everyone can pick themselves up, I didn’t have an excuse to be in a bad mood other than just not feeling my best. Epiphany: I’m never at my best, I’m still working towards it. Better keep trying daily or I’m just slowing my own progress. Happy weekend internet.

4 thoughts on “I don’t mean to brag, but..

  1. It could always be worse. Find constructive hobbies in your spare time. It’s been helping me “get through” my unemployment… or tolerate it. These can only help in the long run, resumes and personal satisfaction. Cheers and happy weekend!

    • You’re totally right there. I generally game as a hobby as well as writing and playing guitar. But on odd days they don’t quite do the trick! How’d you spend your spare time? Ps thanks for stopping by, have a great weekend sir :3

Leave a Reply

