Panic attacks and anxiety

I seem to suffer from crippling anxiety over the smallest of things. Often it’s about explaining my illness to people who I know don’t understand, it terrifies me. I feel like an absolute idiot for feeling like this, I don’t even want to get out of bed. Fear of people not understanding my illness scares me, it’s stupid and there’s no logic behind it. The problem is, I really can’t control it and can’t even catch my breath. I just want to get back into my bed and curl up and hide from things.

I still haven’t found a good way of dealing with it, frankly. Some people say to focus on one spot in your room and focus on breathing. Others deal with it in a more literal sense and just tackle these things head on. I can’t do that, I’m a coward. I’m far too good at hiding from my problems, it’s probably my biggest weakness.

Not being able to afford to visit friends makes me nervous, so does not being able to justify my illness to my job seeker’s consultant who can be a total arsehole at the best of times.

I guess this is my outlet to try to deal with it. Listening to a particular song on repeat and just getting this off my chest.

I really feel too stupid and pathetic to even tell anyone close to me that I struggle so much and have panic attacks.

One thought on “Panic attacks and anxiety

  1. Everyone handles panic attacks differently. I used to get them a lot. I’ve tried deep breathing and muscle relaxation exercises and they never worked. I’d almost get more anxiety from concentrating on my breathing than not haha. But you just have to find your outlet. When I’m feeling extreme anxiety, I sing. I literally close my eyes and sing until my heart has calmed down. It’s been my therapy for years. I know you love music, so that is your therapy. Just let it work on you. ❤

Leave a Reply

